Maintaining and Growing My Natural Hair With Buns

Long time no blog!

Super sorry, I have just honestly not been that into my hair. Don’t get me wrong I loooove my hair, but I have not spent much time styling or playing in it. It seems the longer I am natural, the the less I want to do with it! I have spent the last couple of months just bunning. I am in love with my low buns and it just works for my lifestyle. I workout every morning and then I have to go to work. So, the bun has been a great hairstyle to just be able to stay in shape and look professional at work!

natural hair - bun hairstyle - black hair

***My Routine***

Wash
I co wash my hair once a week. I find that it doesn’t make sense to do more than that, because I am working out almost everyday. My wash day is usually on Friday, because I am off on Saturday and I also try to not work out as much on the weekend. Basically, I have the free time and it works for my schedule. I usually shampoo once a month, but it has been a couple of months since I have used shampoo. I have really gotten use to not using it.
Products:
I co wash with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner
I shampoo with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Shampoo

Conditioning
I do a deep condition once a month.
Products:
Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner
Extra Virgin Olive oil

Click Here For Step By Step Details on How I Do My Deep Conditioning

Detangling
I detangle my hair once a week after my wash and conditioning. I don’t really feel the need to do it anymore than that, because throughout the week my hair is in a bun. Remember it is all about low manipulation. The less you do, the more your hair will retain length!
Products:
For slip I use Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner
Denman Brush
Wide tooth comb

Styling Products
Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner
Note: This is the only product I have been using in my hair lately for styling. I leave in the conditioner and also like to use it to lay my hair down for a more sleek look.

The Style
Now it is time to bun!
I have been doing this routine for so long I feel like it goes by so fast.
After I have finished washing, conditioning, and detangling I bun my hair. I normally go for the low bun. It is something that I have become really comfortable with, and I love the way it looks with my work outfits. It is a really simple but classy hairstyle for any occasion.
At night I like to take down my buns, because personally I don’t like to sleep with a big hump on the back of my head and I have to redo it after my workouts in the morning anyways. I re style my bun every morning. Let me be clear that I do not comb through my hair, I just simple use my boar brush to make sure the hair on top lays down, I pull the hair back, and I bun it up.

Moisturizing
Throughout the week I don’t really have a set moisturizing routine. When I re do my buns in the morning, I always spritz my hair with water, because that is the only way I can get it to lay down and stay in place. The water gets all over my hair, so I normally take it all the way down to the ends.

Check Out How I Refresh My Hair In The Morning….

A Tutorial On How I Do My Low Bun (No Heat)

A Tutorial On How I Do My Low Bun (Heat Stretched Hair)

*** Some FAQs ***
How is my hair responding? Breakage?
My hair is responding great to my bunning routine. My hair has always responded really well to protective hairstyle, so I kind of got lucky with this routine. Last year I was a bit rough on my hair. I told the story about how hard it can be to maintain your hair being a Youtuber. Yes, I learned that lesson the hard way. Anyways, My hair has been retaining length the way it normally does, and it just feel so much better. I have not had or noticed any breakage recently. I also want to say that I always try not to do my hair too tight. I can be a little heavy handed, but I am always aware of my excessive pulling and tugging.

Check out my blog “Youtube Is Destroying My Hair”

How Long?
I am planning to make bunning a big part of my regimen. Now that I have seen how well my hair has done with bunning I want to continue doing it as long as it is working for me. This year I want to wear buns the entire year as a protective style challenge and then check in at the end of the year by revealing my length and health at the end of the year. I’ll give any info regarding ups, downs, challenges, successes! Next year I will still do bunning, but also balance that with wearing my hair down a little more depending on what I have going on!

Will I Get To Enjoy My Hair?
I am enjoying my hair! I have been natural for almost six years now. It will be six years in August! I have done so many different things to my hair as far as styling goes. The proof is on my blog and Youtube page. I am at the stage where I honestly don’t feel like I have anything to prove. I love my hair and I love that I feel like I have what works for me, and what keeps me feeling good when it comes to my hair! I think that once you become confident in what YOU are doing with YOUR hair, no matter what it is…buns, flat ironing, wash and go, afros, twist outs, braid outs, coloring, wigs, weaves, etc. you will ALWAYS enjoy your hair and better than that, your life!!!!

We all know…..
“It’s Bigger Than Hair”

Alicia James
FACEBOOK ME
Follow Me On Instagram

12 thoughts on “Maintaining and Growing My Natural Hair With Buns

Add yours

  1. Alicia you definitely have a wonderful hair style and you look great in the the blue dress. Buns are the best ways to secure hair and avoids tangles and hair falls even thus keeping up the hair healthy and soft.

  2. Thank you for this post, now I will be doing more bun to my hair. I enjoy your posts…keep them coming.

  3. I am wearing a low bun without a puff today for the first time and I love it!! It’s something that I can wear for a long time before wash day, without my ends drying out. I will take it out each night, add leave-in conditioner, and braid it up in 2 pigtails, then redo the bun in the morning. Thanks for the encouragement!!

  4. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a
    youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  5. I am so happy I found your blog. I have been debating going natural for years. I am a faithful gymbunny and I workout extremely hard. I workout in the mornings and go to work afterwards and I have found that bunning works for me and I still maintain my professional look! This is going to be a long journey… but I love to workout more than trying to flat iron and keep my tresses straight.

  6. I have missed your post so much. You are the reason I decided to go natural in the first place. I loved seeing all the things that you do with your natural hair while retaining the length. I have never had a problem with hair growth but I would get lazy and get terrible breakage. Anyway I am now 1 year and 2 months natural. YAY lol. I have found that buns work for me as well. I don’t exercise much, although I need to start, but it is a simple way to protective style while maintaining a sleek look. Thanks again for helping us naturals figure out our hair 🙂

  7. Thank you for this post! I’m transitioning and know I need to workout, but was concerned about which styles would be best. I love braid and twist outs, but my hair shrinks something crucial when I add water. So you answered several of my bunning questions. Thanks!

  8. Love your buns! I am right behind you, protective styling all this year and next year, but I probably have my hair out, only special occasions. Thank you

  9. I am glad I found this old article. I am getting tired of wearing natural braids back-to-back since Feb 2021. This month, I am doing a bun with a cantu banana clip made for natural hair. I am deep conditioning with APHOGEE 2-minute reconstructor once a week and using two different leave in conditioners for styling, Coconut Shea by Eden and Carol Daughter’s Black vanilla for a spritz before i put the creamy leave in on. I remember my hair liking to me conditioned under the dryer and staying moist. No breakage.
    I need a break from the homely cornrows. I can’t do the aloe vera and fenugreek anymore. It’s too smelly and the shea butter is messy. It’s just not practical for a professional woman. I switched to Old school Coconut Blue magic for blow out and banding.

    I am hoping in 6 month’s time with a lot of conditioning and updos, I will finally reach waist length.
    I’ve been protective styling vigorously since fall 2020 and I am only at MBL. Very frustrating.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑