The Perfect Wash and go For “My” Tight Curly Natural Hair

Wash and go on tight curly natural hair

So, I have been on my wash and go kick. I have been really enjoying them this time around@
It seems like the more I do them, the more I love them, and the easier it gets!
My experience with wash and gos have been an up and down battle. Somehow I have been able to move forward and find a method that I am addicted to. I love it so much, I am thinking about doing nothing but wash and gos until the end of the year. (more on that later) πŸ™‚

Here are my steps to achieving my perfect Wash and Go For Tight Curly Hair

  • Shampoo or co wash my hair thoroughly
  • Deep conditioning/hot oil treatment
  • Thoroughly Detangle my hair
  • Add Conditioner (Herbal Essence Hello Hydration) – Add product in sections, making sure to cover each strand, especially the roots where tightly curly hair knots up. From my personal experience adding product thoroughly to the hair decreases knots and tangles. I usually finger comb to get the product all over the hair. You can do bigger sections this way, and not take tiny sections that will increase the styling time. It’s not about defining the curl, it’s about making sure product is evenly distributed.
  • Add my styling gel (Fantasia IC Hair Polisher Styling Gel) – Again, add product in sections, making sure to cover each strand.
  • Blow drying! Once my hair is completely dry it will last until for 5-7 days without re wetting. I don’t use any attachment. I hang my head upside down and begin to dry my hair. I do upside down, so that the curls on top are not disturbed. I don’t mind a little frizz, because it gives me more volume and the bigger hair we all love! I have low porosity hair. My hair literally stays wet for 24 hours. This is no joke! This is usually where my wash and go fails. I usually have to go to bed on wet hair. In the morning, the curls are crammed up, and knotted together. I then have to re wet my hair. This becomes a daily process which defeats the purpose of low manipulation styling that you should get from a wash and go.

This entire process from the shampoo to the blow drying takes a little over an hour. I use about 30 minutes to deep condition, 10-15 minutes to add product, and about 15-20 minutes to blow dry.

I maintain my wash and go at night by using the pineapple method. In the morning, I add a little oil, shake and go!

*Pineapple Method*

Who said us coily heads can’t do wash and gos!?!?! I am quickly changing my opinion on the wash and go for my tight curly hair! πŸ™‚

FINAL WORDS
Most people with tight coils like me are afraid of the wash and go, because tangles can be scary. I’ve battled wash and gos because of that reason. The key for my hair is making sure the hair is fully detangled before styling, and product. Product is not key for growing hair, but it is key for styling. Find the right product for your wash and gos, and make sure to apply it thoroughly.

18 thoughts on “The Perfect Wash and go For “My” Tight Curly Natural Hair

  1. This is SOOO helpful! I will definitely try this. I too was convinced that I could not do wash-and-go’s, but you have made me a believer. Keep on blogging and sharing videos!

  2. I may have to give this a whirl! My hair completely changed textures from year 1 to year 3 and I can no longer do wash-and-gos or I’ll get a tangled mess. I may have to try it out again though after reading your post!

  3. You inspired me to rock a wash and go on my 4 type hair. I wore marley twists prior, and wanted to give my hair a break from tension. My hair takes forever to dry as well, so I usually go to sleep in a plastic bag cap. The next day doesn’t take my hair long to dry and the style lasts for a week. You are preaching truth about product application. It makes ALL the difference.

  4. Hi Alicia,
    I’m a french “Hairlover”.
    I like your hair, your videos, your post and your songs!
    Your are my model.
    You give me inspiration and you make me stronger!
    Thanks for all.
    I’m totally “Crazy in love” with you
    God bless you.

    Pardon my bad english πŸ˜‰

  5. have you ever tried using an oil alone. My hair is kinky curly. I did an egg an mayo deep conditioner, i washed with a lavender mud wash and then cotton t shirt dried my hair. I then put coconut oil on my hair and and blowed dried on low only because I only had an hour to do this whole process lol. My hair did not shrink up as much as usual and it did not feel crunchy, I love it.

  6. hi!! I’m from senegal but i live in italy so I didn’t understand well. when I Add contitioner I must leave it on for how long after rising? i often leave it for 25 minutes it’s ok???’

  7. OMG! I am in love with your hair! I did the big chop a little over a year ago and (at the time, I couldn’t have been happier). I loved my natural texture, it was short, and easy to maintain. A year later, my hair has grown a lot and seem as though its getting harder and harder to style and maintain. I am in a hair rut! This post has given me inspiration. I can’t wait to try this. Thanks!

    http://wp.me/3rp8b

  8. I have not tried this method, but I will. I have been enjoying washngos by using Cantu Shea Moisture as a leave in and As i Am Defining gel. However, you are right about the white spots. I do get build up in some areas of my hair. Its not that noticeable when it dries. Thanks for clearing up that Cantu Shea Moisture doesn’t well with other products. I will try the Hello hydration conditioner. I love it for Co-washing.

  9. Hi there I am so deloighted I found your webpage, I really
    found you by error, while I was looking on Digg
    for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanms for a fantastic post and a all
    round exciting blogg (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked
    it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read much more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

