Washing Curly Hair – Kelli’s Wash Day Routine

I wash Kelli’s hair weekly. Her hair is really oily and builds up easily. When I do not shampoo the hair weekly it sticks together, tangles, and makes styling difficult.

This is her weekly routine…..

Step 1: *Light Finger Detangling On Dry Hair*
We normally do a slight finger detangle to make sure the hair is not sticking together. If we don’t do that the hair will get matted together during the shampoo.

Step 2: *Shampoo*
We wet the hair and add a generous amount of shampoo to the scalp and roots of the hair. I massage the scalp gently with my fingertips. It is really important to make sure her scalp is clean, because the product will sit on the scalp leaving a white residue. The white residue mixes with any product that I add later on, making the buildup worse. I don’t add shampoo directly to the ends of her hair. During the rinse the shampoo runs down the hair strands and I use that opportunity to massage and cleanse the ends. This is very important, because shampoo can dry out the hair.
-Products Used For This Step:  Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Shampoo

Step 3: *Deep Conditioning/Hot Oil Treatment*
This is very important to add moisture back into the hair after a good shampoo cleansing. I usually mix our regular rinse out conditioner with extra virgin olive oil for this treatment. We apply it to the hair mainly focusing on the ends of the hair. We apply a plastic bag or cap, and sit under the hair dryer for about 15-30 minutes. Then we rinse it out. I like to conditioner wash the oil out of the hair. This way we still leave a little oil in the hair without weighing it down.
Also, a hair dryer is not required; you can heat the oil, and leave it in for a few hours or even overnight.
-Products Used For This Step:  Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner, 100% Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Step 4: *Detangling*
Now it is time to detangle the hair. We do use combs and brushes, but I like to start off with finger detangling. First I take small sections of the hair and finger detangle, making sure to get rid of all knots and tangles. After that I use a wide tooth comb or brush to smooth down the strands.
-Products Used For This Step:  Chi Air Brush – I wanted to mention this brush, because it is simply amazing. I use it on my hair primarily after finger detangling, and I prefer it over the Denman.

Step 5: *Styling*
We have been doing mostly wash and gos lately. I like the lower manipulation. We use a method similar to the plopping method to dry the hair. This is when you wrap the hair with a t shirt, and it usually gets the hair about 50% dry, depending on how long you leave the t shirt. Using a t shirt helps to prevent frizz, unlike using a dry towel.  Once the hair is a little dry, we add the product. For her wash and gos we use different products that give different results. We mainly use the Suave Naturals with Eco styler gel, but we also use Cantu Shea Butter Leave In. Once the product is added to all of the hair, we shake, shake, shake, and let the hair air dry for the end result.
-Products Used For This Step:  Suave Naturals Rinse Out Conditioner, Eco Styler Clear Gel, Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioning Repair Cream

This process usually takes about 1-2 hours

Kelli and I use the same method for deep conditioning/hot oil treatment.
Click below to see the step by step guide on my Deep Conditioning/Hot Oil Treatment Method
Deep conditioning/hot oil treatment method

What is your wash day like?

Click KellisCurls for more hair videos and quick tips!

7 thoughts on “Washing Curly Hair – Kelli’s Wash Day Routine

  1. Hello

    Since starting my hair journey my scalp is now very itchy and I suffer from dry scalp (never had that problem before). I’m not sure if this is because I have started swimming lessons recently (last 3 weeks). Do you experience that at all? I use the same products as yourself although I do oil my scalp now before I shampoo and after I rinse out my conditoner.

  2. Hi! You know, it could be due to swimming, but it could also be the oil you are using directly on your scalp. I use extra virgin olive oil, and I use to apply it directly to my scalp. After time I noticed my scalp were itchy and irritated. I did a little research and found that others were having that issue with applying the oil directly to the scalp. Once I stopped my scalp felt soooo much better. 🙂

  3. Hi I’m a natural just like Kelli and when I hair is curly it gets tangled and unmanageable, especially when I sweat because I’m in soccer. Is there any tips how to hold my curls and make them more manageable

Leave a Reply

