A Week With Me – Maintaining My “Natural Hair”

Straightened Natural Hair - Blowout

If you have followed me for a while, then you know that my regimen is pretty simple. I’ve been natural for four years, and don’t see the need to be too fancy, if that makes sense. LOL! I still have lots of fun with my hair, and I think my many hairstyles prove that, but a normal week is pretty basic for me, and that helps with the length retention and overall health of my hair. (low manipulation and protective styling)

I get a lot of questions about how I manage my natural hair throughout the week, so I decided to list what a week is like for me when it comes to styling and maintaining my natural hair. You may find my routine even more boring after reading this. LOL! Boring, but always simple and easy! 🙂

I am going to start my week off with a fresh wash!

Friday:

I usually wash my hair during the weekend. Friday night I do my shampoo and deep conditioning. I let my hair air dry for a few hours and then blow dry my hair using the tension method. That night I put my hair in a bun using the “bunning method”, wrap my hair with a satin scarf, and then cover with my satin cap. (Wrapping with a satin scarf and wearing my satin cap is something I do every day)

Saturday:

I take my hair down, and prepare for styling. I don’t usually add any product on my hair on this day. My go to style has been a sock bun or a high bun. I usually wear this hairstyle throughout the entire week. At night I add oil to my hair, focusing mainly on the ends. After applying the oil, I prepare my hair for bed, using the “bunning method”, and covering with satin scarf and hat.

Sunday: 

I take down my hair as I did the previous morning, and style as usual. Again, I go for a simple bun, unless I have something special planned.  If it is a special day, or just a fun day out, I may go for a braid out or one of my favorite styles, a bantu knot out.  Again, at night I bun the hair up, using the “bunning method”, covering with a satin scarf and hat.

Monday – Thursday:
I usually repeat these same steps until Friday rolls around.

I no longer wash my hair weekly, now that it is much longer.  I find that my hair does not suffer with weekly washes. It actually stays a lot more moisturized, and seems to do a lot better with more infrequent washes. (Who would have “thunk” it) 🙂

Friday – 1 Week:

On Friday which is now one week after my wash day, I massage my scalp with oil. This helps with dry and itchy scalp.  I finger detangle my hair, and then detangle with a wide tooth comb or brush. After my hair is detangled, I lightly spritz with water and seal with an oil or leave in. I spritz the water mainly focusing on my ends.  I make sure to bun the hair up quickly so that it does not shrink up. I let the hair dry overnight, and start again with my normal daily routine.

Quick Tips

*I am now washing my hair once or twice every month, so I repeat my routine until wash day*

*Remember applying oil every night

*Remember satin cap and/or scarf

*Remember weekly detangling which is important even with stretched out or straightened hair

*Remember massaging scalp once a week

*Remember moisturizing the hair weekly and sealing with oil.

 

 

*EasyNaturalHair.com*
“Easy Natural Hair”
Click MsAliciaJames.com For More “Natural Hair” videos!

Subscribe to my channel on Youtube for new natural hair videos, it’s free!!! Click the logo below!

youtube_logo_670

7 thoughts on “A Week With Me – Maintaining My “Natural Hair”

  1. When I experienced the most hair growth, it was when I did the less with my hair as far as manipulation. I love low maintenance hair care. You make it seem so easy. Thank you!

  2. Hi Alicia- Your method seems very simple and fool proof. I follow a similar regimen but I wash weekly and don’t blow dry 🙂 I can’t seem to get the back of my head and whenever I blow dry I notice breakage so I’ve stopped.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. I have watched a number of your videos on YouTube, and I have to say that your hair as well as your voice is beautiful. I have been natural for a year now, and I am still learning the ends and outs of taking proper care of my natural hair without using a lot of products. I am going to take note on the above things that you state that you do. Thank You for sharing. Peace and Blessing. NessizNatural.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

