Best Deep Conditioner For Natural Hair

"Hot Oil Treatment" and "Deep conditioning" Natural Hair

So, not sure if it is the best, but this routine truly changed the way my hair looked and also made a difference in my hair’s overall health!

I’ve done my deep conditioning/hot oil treatment on both wet and dry hair. I don’t really have a preference, but normally do my treatment on wet hair, because I like to shampoo first.

Step 1: I do a light finger detangling, and then shampoo my hair.

  • I like to clean my hair first with a sulfate shampoo.  I use Herbal Essence Hello Hydration. Some do it afterwards, but in my mind I would just be taking out all of the oils I just added from my deep conditioning/hot oil treatment.

Step 2: I add a generous amount of regular rinse out conditioner to my hair.

  • I use Herbal Essence Hello Hydration

Step 3: I add a generous amount of oil to my hair.

  • I use extra virgin olive oil

Step 4: I cover my hair with a plastic cap or bag.

Step 5: I sit under a hooded dryer for about 15-30 minutes.

  • This heats the oil and conditioner. The heat also helps to open the cuticles of the hair so that the oil and conditioner can be absorbed into the strands. I have low porosity hair so this is very important.
  • If you like, you can heat the oil in a microwave. Once you have added the conditioner and oil to your hair, put on the plastic cap or bag. You can wrap a warm towel around it and let it stay on for a few hours or overnight.

Step 6: Rinse the conditioner and oil out of the hair. I usually have to add a little rinse out conditioner to rinse the oil out. I don’t mind leaving a small amount of conditioner and oil in my hair.

Step 7: I add my leave in conditioner and style as normal.

I have used this method for over half of my journey! This has made my hair soft and manageable. My hair also has a beautiful shine that developed over time. This is a must for my hair regimen

Videos on how to take care of natural hair!

13 thoughts on “Best Deep Conditioner For Natural Hair

  1. nice and easy.. although I deep condition before shampooing with a mild sulfate shampoo, i still feel the need to deep condition after shampooing because i don’t feel my hair get all the nutrients its needs from pre-pooing only. I have been thinking of skipping pre-pooing and just using a cheap condish to first detangle before shampooing.

  2. This sounds great I wish I had a dryer. I will be investing in one. Why do u use sulfate shampoos I’ve Read a lot about how it strips natural oils. Organic root simulator is a sulfate free I’ve seen.have u heard anything about it.

  3. Thanks! I shampoo because, I like to make sure my scalp is thoroughly cleansed. Also my scalp get irritated when product builds up. My hair also holds on to oils, and conditioner does not get that old oil I’ve been using throughout the week off of the hair. I have done conditioner washing, and I personally don’t feel it cleanses my hair. I have also done non sulfate shampoos.
    Shampoo can be drying, but I ALWAYS do a deep conditioning/hot oil treatment after shampooing my hair. I’ve used shampoo for most of my journey. Everyone’s experience is different though. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Washing Curly Hair – Kelli’s Wash Day Routine | Easy Natural Hair

  5. I just decided to go Natural! Super Excited! I know if i do the big chop its better but my husband doesnt want me to cut my hair and i really dont either is it harder to go Natural without cutting the chemicals hair

  6. So adding oil to any type of leave in conditioner will have the same effect. How do you feel about liquid coconut oil?

  7. Am so happy i found your blog and this post !! I also use sulfate shampoos to wash my hair ( Herbal essences Bee strong ) but first i dilute it with water . i dont detangle i noticed that anytime i put the shampoo on my hair it melts all my knots making it easier for me to detangle with the shampoo on my hair and no breakage at all !! I follow with a rinse out conditioner and a deep conditoner and my hair stays moisturised all through the week !! Anytime i use a sulfate free shampoo i feel that my hair is not clean also cowashing doesnt clean my hair so i found myself washing my hair every 2 weeks using the sulfate shampoo i can stay without washing my hair for a month !!! i have never tried the hello hydration herbal essences as a deep conditioner but i will try it and post my results !! Stay bless:)

  8. Pingback: Maintaining & Growing My Natural Hair With Buns | How To Take Care Of Natural Hair

  9. Hi there I am so grateful I found your site, I really
    found you by error, while I was looking on Bing for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like
    to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great
    deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  10. Pingback: Maintaining and Growing My Natural Hair With Buns | How To Take Care Of Natural Hair

  11. Pingback: Washing Curly Hair – Kelli’s Wash Day Routine | How To Take Care Of Natural Hair

Leave a Reply

