Flexi Rods On Straightened/Stretched Natural Hair

Flexi Rods On Natural Hair Collage

I started off with hair that had been straightened with a flat iron.

Flat iron video: http://youtu.be/bJAmSA1HlL0?t=3m30s

This hairstyle does not require heat.

  1. I started off finger detangling each section, making sure that there were no knots or tangles.
  2. I took small sections and spritzed it LIGHTLY with water. (I did not use any extra products on my hair)
  3. I wrapped the hair onto the roller, spreading the hair out evenly.
  4. I repeated steps 1, 2, and 3 on each section of hair, until my entire all of the hair was wrapped in rods.
  5. I let the hair air dry for 5+ hours.  You can use a hair dryer, but I wanted to get no heat curls. When you are doing no heat curls, it is better to not the soak the hair with water and product.  If you soak the hair with water it will take longer to dry with no heat.
  6. I un-twirled each section. I did not completely un-roll, this will mess up the definition of the curl.
  7. After all of the rods are taken out, I start to gently pull the curls a part to add more fullness and movement.
  8. You can add oil to the curls for shine

You’re Done! Enjoy your beautiful no heat curls!!!!

Short/Medium Hairstyles

Medium/Long Hairstyles

*EasyNaturalHair.com*
“Easy Natural Hair”
Click MsAliciaJames.com For More “Natural Hair” videos!

Subscribe to my channel on Youtube for new natural hair videos, it’s free!!! Click the logo below!

youtube_logo_670

5 thoughts on “Flexi Rods On Straightened/Stretched Natural Hair

  1. Dear Alicia – I have been ‘stalking’ your site and always come away with inspirational and useful information for my hair maintenence. I started the olive oil prepoo and am loving it! I recently broke down and heat straightened my hair, flat ironing it last week, and (after wash & air dry) electric press comb this week. I deep conditioned, let it air dry in braids then twists prior to applying heat and used Nubian Heritage Honey/Black Seed Heat Protect Leave In Conditioner and serum as my leave in.

    My question is – I tried both bantu knots and satin rollers overnight, but the hair will not keep curl definition! If I use a moisturizing cream (e.g. Nub Heritage, or CD Marguerite’s magic) I get some curls but they frizz out by the afternoon. My hair is too kinky to spray with water (4c). I’m afraid it will revert. Your suggestions are appreciated! Thank you!

  2. It will help to have a product with a little water. You need something that is going to set the curls. Don’t add it to the roots, just a little bit to the ends. Don’t add it to your entire head at once. Add it as you do each section, this way you keep the hair stretched out and you do your knots or rollers before the hair has a chance to shrink or frizz up. Also, the longer you can keep the rollers are knots in the better they will set.🙂

Leave a Reply

