Flat Ironing Natural Hair

Flat Ironing Natural Hair
Flat Ironing Natural Hair - Front View
Flat Ironing Natural Hair - Back View

Flat Ironing Natural Hair - Ponytail

I guess you can say this was a two day process. I didn’t want to rush it, and I wanted to make sure that my hair was well protected and taken care of. I have no regrets, and I am really enjoying my straight hair!

Products Used:

  • Golden Wheat Deep Cleanse Shampoo by Giovanni
  • Smooth As Silk Deeper Moisture Conditioner by Giovanni
  • Direct Leave In Weightless Moisture Conditioner by Giovanni
  • Smooth As Silk Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion by Giovanni
  • 100% Vegetable Glycerin (any brand)
  • Brazilian Smooth Keratin Blowout Cream
  • Andis 1 1/2″ Ceramic Flat Iron

My Process:

  • I shampooed my hair with my Golden Wheat Deep Cleanse Shampoo by Giovanni. It is very important to flat iron on clean hair.
  • I did a nice protein treatment with my Smooth As Silk Xtreme Protein Hair Infusion by Giovanni. I wanted to make sure my hair was nice and strong.
  • After my protein treatment I did a deep conditioning to add back in the moisture after the protein treatment. I used my 100% Vegetable Glycerin (any brand) and Smooth As Silk Deeper Moisture Conditioner by Giovanni. I didn’t do a oil treatment, because sometimes I don’t wash it all out. I didn’t want my hair to be oil and weighed down.
  • After my deep conditioning I applied my Direct Leave In Weightless Moisture Conditioner by Giovanni and Brazilian Smooth Keratin Blowout Cream (heat protectant). I put my hair in medium twist to let air dry overnight.
  • The next morning I took down my twist and blow dried my hair using the tension method.
  • After my hair was blown out, I sectioned the hair into four different sections. I started with each section, breaking it off into smaller pieces to flat iron. I only did one pass. I flat ironed on 15. It goes up to 20 an the hottest temperature is 375.
  • When I was done flat ironing I applied a small amount of Brazilian Smooth Keratin Blowout Cream. (heat protectant)
  • I cut about 3-4 inches to even out and any straggly ends

*Notes:

I love it! I want to wear it straight for as long as possible! My hair is not extremely straight, it has some body. I wasn’t looking for a bone straight look. Also, I understand with my natural hair texture it may require hotter heat to get bone straight. I am not interested in risking burning my har off! LOL!  I am maintaining my hair at night by using the “bunning method”. I am not looking to have bone straight hair. The bun gives me movement.

Videos Of My Hair Journey

 

24 thoughts on “Flat Ironing Natural Hair

  1. I am so happy to have found you on YouTube in August. I have been natural for almost 2 years and most of it was spent in frustration. When I found your channel I had purchased texturizers because I had reached the end of my natural hair rope! LOL! After using the methods outlined on your channel and the channels of several other natural hair divas…I now love my hair! I know what to do with it and what it likes! The boxes of texturizer are sitting on the shelf unopened where they will remain until I send them to my sister who uses them instead of relaxers. Love you and your energy, your spirit and your beautiful hair! You are simply an amazing woman! Thank You <3!!!!!

  2. I’ve been waiting for this for months!!..Lol! It’s beautiful!! I actually love you both ways, curly or straight. I’m in aww of your progress.

  3. It has been two months since I’ve had a perm. I’m just starting out. I just woke up one day and decided I’m tired of the creamy crack. So, I’m not going to do the big chop; I’m going to keep braids for a year. I’ll just get my ends clipped between take downs. I’m really nervous and scared because I don’t know what to expect from my hair. Wish me luck and thank you for chronicalizing your natural hair journey. It’s much appreciated so keep it coming!!

  4. Hi Alicia. I love your straight hair too! I like it both ways really but this is a nice change. I don’t straighten my hair myself because I usually get frustrated and start ripping at it I think its because I’m not really good at the blowing part of the process.

  5. Thank you! I am enjoying my flat ironed hair!
    Blow drying takes getting used to. I started blow drying when I turned two years natural. In my third year, I added it to my regimen at least once every 1-2 months. It is easier to not use the comb for me. It also helps to not rip out a lot of hair. I am learning to use the comb without pulling out hair, but it is slowly coming. Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

  6. Hi Alicia. I so love your hair and styles…always looks good, straight or curly. I wanna be like you when I grow up! OK, I’m already grown up but hey, you’re an inspiration!
    Do you ever get knots and tangles very close to the roots after washing your hair? If so, how do you deal with them, without ripping out your hair during detangling? I always seem to lose so much hair when detangling. I consider myself a heavy shedder but I can’t help feeling that all that hair lost during the detangling process is not strictly shed hair. I would love to be able to detangle without using a comb or brush, but I don’t seem to be able to detangle properly or get out all my shed hair without them.(sigh)
    Oh, about the products used for this look, when exactly did you use the Giovanni Direct leave-in conditioner? It’s listed in the products used but is nowhere in the procedure.

  7. Thank yooouuu!!!! Yes, I don’t think I have a preference now. I didn’t know how much I would actually enjoy the straight hair. I think they are both beautiful. It’s nice to be able to do both! 😉

  8. Thank you! I understand you are nervous! A lot of people says it is just hair, but hair is a part of a woman’s beauty.(short or long) We like our hair to look nice and we like to be healthy. I will tell yu though, you don’t need to be nervous. It is so worth it and you will be excited about the results! You can do it!!! 🙂 ❤

  9. Yes, I get knots and tangles all of the time at the roots. It’s so funny, because I rarely hear people talk about that. I have found that detangling with my fingers helps. I start from the ends of course, but after my ends are detangled I go to the roots and just gently work those tangles out under the shower head.
    How often are you detangling. If you are only detangling once a week or once every two weeks, you may notice more hair. The hair sheds hundreds of hair everyday. Depending on your styling regimen during the week, you may just be getting some of those hairs out that were caught up with the rest of your hair throughout the week.
    I did a thing once that I got from Kimmaytube. I tracked my hair loss after each detangling for a few weeks. I put the hair in sandwich bags and dated them. Then I compared them all to really have a good picture of my hair loss.
    I have not completely retired my combs. I actually still use my denman brush,but only after detangling. It really helps to assure the strands are all smooth down.
    I use the Giovanni leave in after my wash and deep conditioning. I made a mistake in the blog, but corrected it! 🙂

    Good luck!!! ❤

  10. Thanks for answering Alicia. I often come across those pesky “root” knots and tangles after having already detangled and am out of the shower. I’m going to just have to try the finger detangling and really search for them while still in the shower. That might make it easier to get them out.
    As for the frequency of my detangling, it’s every 3 to 4 weeks, when I wash. I’m in twists 99.9% of the time and only take them down to wash. Gone are the days when I would wash my hair twice per week (when I wore a relaxer). It’s not easy to wash often with a toddler demanding attention. I also find that my hair is dry after washing. My hair seems to love the oils that accumulate after at least 1 week and keeping them in twists and moisturizing every 2 to 3 days seems a good compromise. I’ll definitely be trying out that Kimmaytube hair loss tracking technique, though. Thanks for telling me about it
    Anyway, I simply want to thank you for sharing your natural hair journey (and other journeys: will be testing out the Olay pro x brush to see if it helps with my adult acne ;-D ). You may only be an expert of your own hair but the info you put out there gives us ideas of things to try that we probably wouldn’t have thought of on our own. Looking forward to your future posts and videos…keep them coming!

    All the best…!!!

  11. Hello. I’ve seen your videos on YouTube and love your hair. What suggestions do you have for someone who’s allergic to natural products? I noticed you use a great deal of natural shampoos, conditioners and lotions. Also I cannot constantly wet or dampen my hair. My scalp is very sensitive. Constant moisture from wetting and dampening makes it very itchy and sometimes flaky. I tried using shea moisture products, but the shampoo caused my scalp to itch and I BELIEVE ( I’m not sure) to shed. However, while using the product I still had a great deal of length and body ( regardless of A LOT of shedding). So I want to use natural products because they promote growth, but I think they systematically take my hair out. I just pressed my hair some weeks back and I noticed it wasn’t as long and thick as it was the last time I pressed straightened my hair ( which was a year ago) . Any suggestions. I hope this comment made sense. Do you know of any healthy shampoo and conditioners that aren’t very natural but still promote long, thick hair. Especially daily hair lotions or milks. My hair gets very dry and I have been catching heck trying to find a good hair milk.

  12. Oh and I tried giovanni ………………that stuff really makes my hair itch. Which break my heart because it is 100 percent natural and you can get it anywhere these days.

  13. I have been natural for over 4 and a half years and only tried all natural products (Giovanni) for about two months. I didn’t like it for my hair, so i tend to not use all natural products. The only thing I use that is all natural is extra virgin olive oil. 🙂
    My full regimen has a list of the products I am currently using.

    Here: http://easynaturalhair.com/my-hair-regimen/

    My scalp is also very sensitive. I cannot keep my hair wet for long periods of time. It sounds like you have some sort of allergy. You may want to seek advice from a professional before experimenting with the different products, so that you can see what is best for YOUR hair. 🙂

  14. Alicia, I absolutely adore your hair, and you’re gorgeous! Thank you so much for sharing your journey. It has been extremely helpful to me. I do have a few questions that I hope you could help me with. How often do you do a protein treatment on your hair or do you only use protein when preparing to flat iron your hair? Also, did you wash out the protein prior to using the deep conditioner and glycerin or did you leave it in? Thanks!

  15. Such a great post. I have been struggling with protective styles and was doing the “bunning” method but noticed my 4a-z hair was having breakage around the temples. I am on day 2 of your process and to be honest I am loving this blown out bun I have, I am contemplating skipping the flat-iron altogether. lol

Leave a Reply

