“Alicia James” No Heat Challenge!

Why? I’ve recently had to change my regimen. The more hair I get, the drier I noticed my ends. So, as much as I loved some of my staple products, I got rid of some and traded them in for something with more gentle ingredients. πŸ™‚ More to come on that. I don’t want to lay out my new regimen until I have been doing it for a few months, and can truly say….THIS WORKS! lol!

Anyways…Β  I loooove my blown out hair.I did my first blow out when I was two years natural. It was the greatest experience eveeeer! I looove the big huge hair, and I like how easy it is to style. We all know that heat has it’s affects on our hair. It can dry it out, and also cause excessive shedding. I don’t use a comb attachment when blow drying, and I only blow dry my hair once it is dry,Β  just to get a quick stretch. With this method, I’ve never seen any negative effects due to my blow drying, but everyone is different. I only blow dry once a month, so maybe that it why it hasn’t been so bad. The reason I decided to do the challenge is for convenience really. I want to be able to manipulate less, and honestly just be able to walk out the door if I need to. Also I work out a lot and I don’t want to have to manipulate my hair too much.

My no heat challenge started 08/31/12,Β  it will end December 1. In December, I will be doing my first flat iron since being natural. πŸ™‚

During my challenge I will be doing mostly wash and gos! πŸ™‚

Join in if you like! πŸ™‚

 

6 thoughts on ““Alicia James” No Heat Challenge!

  1. Hi Alicia. I have been getting my hair washed and pressed for the past 10 years no relaxers. My hair holds heat very well and I only go to the beauty shop once a month but lately I have been wanting my to wear my hair more natural instead of straight. How will you be wearing your hair without heat?

  2. I have been doing a no heat challenge since January. Trimming every 2 months. Transitioning for a year. I recently had my hair blown out by the dominicans. I have finally cut teh last of my perm out two weeks ago and cant beleive I’ve done it. I could not big chop but I stuck to it and cant be mroe happier with my hair. More healthy, more shiny and I know my hair and what works best. Still trying to achieve some of these protective styles. And work past those not so good hair days. I love doign my daughters hair nowthat Ive mastered braiding techniques. Now that the weather is changing and the humidty is gone I will work on more protective styles and wearing scarves. Glad I came across your blog. Looking forward to leearnign from a different perspective.

  3. The first 2 weeks I wore wash and gos, but did not enjoy the detangling as always. So, I’ve been wearing braid outs, but my hair has been up in a high bun for about 2 weeks. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

