Last Thoughts On My Wash and Go

Okay…before I get started let me say,  I am not speaking for anyone else. This is about my experience and what I’ve learned! 🙂

So, I have been experimenting with wash and gos for the last couple of weeks. I’ve talked about in my blog/vlogs lately. In the beginning of my journey all I did was wear wash and gos! It was soooo much easier with my twa!

My TWA

 

When my hair got longer, wash and gos  became a thing of the past. I noticed so much tangling and knotting. Detangling was a nightmare after a wash and go. Also, the shrinkage can be crazy, and from what I’ve experience; lots of shrinkage=knots. I became really frustrated with that process. I’ve done several videos on the YT, where I said I was done with the wash and go, and I hated them! But…. I always go back! LOL! I guess I figure there has got to be an easy way to wear our hair in its natural state and wear it with a little more ease. Sometimes I don’t want to go through the different methods of stretching the hair.

This time I decided to not go back in to the relationship blind! (feels like a relationship with the wash and go) LOL! I did a lot of research, I watched a lot of videos, I read about others experience with similar textures. Finally, I felt like I had enough information to give it a try once again. Well…. it was a PASS!!! I feel like I have finally mastered the wash and go!*Click HERE to read my blog on mastering my wash & go!* With mastering the wash and go, I even tried using Suave Naturals and eco styler.  This also gave me nice results! I was able to maintain my wash and go for at least five days. *Click HERE to read about my method for maintaining my wash and go*

 

Now,  let’s really dig into this….

I really love the look of my wash and go now, but I don’t think it is something I will ever make a big part of my regimen. Buuuut I will most definitely do it again! ha haa! I will detail my experience below!

They are beautiful! It’s nothing like seeing those tight coils sticking together, every strand of hair clumped together nicely! The problem is for ME, there is always a big price to pay. Doesn’t matter what methods I use, the wash and go ends in long detangling sessions, and loss of more hair than usual. I do enjoy them, and feel like I’ve mastered the way my wash and gos look, but I can’t do 2-3 hour long detangling sessions to prevent excessive hair loss.  I use some of the tips from the curly girl method, but I find that my hair responds better with this method when I do a twistout. The hair is extremely soft, but nice and stretch preventing unnecessary tangles.

Not trying to scare anyone. Just sharing my experience.

Don’t think the wash and go is a no go. I want to share the method that Naptural85 uses for her wash and gos. I’ve done this method for a couple of years now, but I’ve been referring to it as a wet twist out. My results are sooo much better with these results, and if you are having issues with tangling during your wash and gos, because of your tight coils, you should try this method.

Naptural85’s Wash and Go Method

So, I will leave you with these words of wisdom! LOL! Always wanted to say that…. The key is embracing what you have. Our tight toils can be really unpredictable, stubborn, and a whole lot of other things. Embrace what you have and make your hair work for YOU, don’t work for your hair! It gets easier when you accept what your hair can’t do, and you start exploring and finding the things that it CAN do! Good luck! Share your stories below…the good and the bad! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Last Thoughts On My Wash and Go

  1. Your hair looks amazing like that. I just big chopped last week and am experiencing a lot of dryness. Any advice for keeping my TWA moisturized? My hair just soaked up the oils. Perhaps I need a good cream moisturizer.

  2. Look at that beautiful texture!! It will be a few years before I get there, but I’m sooo looking forward to it. BTW, I tried ‘mini’ twists in my hair (not really mini, more like box twists). I’m 8 months into transition as I mentioned, and after a week, my tex-laxed ends are holding far better than parts of my natural hair close to the scalp! Jaw drop! Totally unraveling at the nape and in a few other areas like near the ear (probably due to my sunglasses and computer glasses.) I thought it would be the other way around. I left them down the first day and have bunned them ever since, hoping I won’t have to redo it all – if that’s the case, they’re coming out (took almost 4 hours to put in!) Anyway, it can be done while transitioning, just thought I’d share that 😉

  3. I too have tried Mahoganycurls CG method and Naptual85s twist out method. I have to say that I like them both for different reasons. My hair is closer in texture to Naps so her methods work for me due to convenience. BUT because I work out 6 days a week…the twist soon turns to a fro out and that’s not cool for work [I’m a teacher]. Now, thi summer I’ve been doing the CG method and I really like it. Each day my hair stretches on its own probably because its still wet from the the gym, but its full, curly and easier to style. I do see more of a loss of hair with the CG but I’m careful. My go to hairstyle is twists and scarves because I can mix and match daily.

  4. My wash and go’s have never really been bad for me. My currls arent as tight and coily as yours(i envy ur cute coils!!) but they arent as unmanagable. I have almost all S pattern, some Z, and then some corkscrews. When doing my wash and go’s i always have my Cantu (LeaveInCondit..) and put a good amount in my hair. This makes my hair easy to detangle. When my hair is naked it is super soft but dangerous because it’ll break easily. Cantu keeps it moisturized and safe.lol.
    I had to learn how to tame my wash and go’s but thats all thanks to Youtubers. Once I found out what works for me I stuck to it and now I have the hang of my hair.!

  5. Your hair looks gorgeous Alicia but i can definitely relate to not being able to do wash & gos all the time. When I first went natural, I loved the simplicity it gave me. As my hair grew I came to realise that wash & gos are no longer an ideal everyday hair style but are great once in a while. It’s ironic because I just did a post on how to wash & go easily, check it out here: http://wp.me/p1yGki-1M

  6. hey alicia! i’m so glad to read you about wash and go! i always look your videos on youtube alwayyyyys! lol my friend are saying “hey melissa you will get hypnotised!”lol you inspired me so much! i decided to bigchop in the month of august! so i’m in my 2nd month post big chop (cheeeerrrrrrssss ^^) everyday i look your videos, your advices and they keep me motivated! please dont stop posting!! we need youuu!! and your songs (OMG…your voice!! i love it) and you are so cute!…. ok i’ll stop there …lol

  7. LOL!!!! Thank yooouuuu! I really really appreciate your kind words! I will continue to post videos for you and other women who are searching for the info! I truly love what I do, and really happy it helps others! 🙂 Congrats on your big chop and good luck on your journey! )

Leave a Reply

