Kelli’s Two Strand Twist

Kelli has really long hair. It’s based her hip bone, and with any extra head of hair around the house, it can be a lot of work! Most of the time Kelli is wearing braids. I’ve attempted two strand twist on her hair in the past, but they just unravel seconds after. I decided to try a new method this time. I started off braiding the hair about an inch down, and then combined the three strands to make two, and start twisting.

I do her twist on freshly washed and detangled hair. I put the hair in braids so that it can air dry overnight and stay stretched. I moisturize the hair with Cantu Shea Butter Leave In. The Cantu also helps to give the hair a soft hold. I like to do the twist in sections. I start off at the roots braiding the hair about one inch. Then I start twisting all the way down to the ends. I use a small amount of Cantu to smooth and curl the ends of the twist.

This style took me about 4-5 hours.

So far she has been wearing them for over a week, and they are really cute on her.

I will do an update to let you know how long they last. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Kelli’s Two Strand Twist

  1. My goodness. That is a LOT of hair, and between you both I know your daughter will grow up understanding her hair better than the past generation of black women. I’m so proud that we as women are embracing all of our beauty instead of copying someone else’s ideal. At what age do you plan on having her participate in her own hair care? BTW I love how you spell her name (my name is Kelli too!)

  2. You know, I’m not really rushing it. I have started teaching her basic skills like wetting her hair in the bath, twisting, but I don’t think I will have her doing her own hair until she is in her mid teens. 🙂

  3. Love your music and natural hair videos.
    Do you use the extra virgin oil and the hot oil treatment at the same time?
    Going through my own journey…my hair has been natural for 4 months. I see the difference with my scalp…no more dryness.
    Thank you Alicia and continue success.

Leave a Reply

