Protective Style/Low Manipulation Challenge! July 2012

I will be wearing my twist until my four year anniversary, September 1! After the challenge is over, I will be doing an official length check!

I do a challenge for myself at least 2-3 times a year. Protective styling and low manipulation has been a big part of my regimen, and me being able to retain length.  There are no big rules when I do my challenge, just that I won’t be wearing my loose during this time. 🙂

Anyone can join in, just choose your go to style.  Remember, choose styles that are low manipulation. The goal is to not have to do constant styling to your hair.

Have Fun! 🙂

 

25 thoughts on “Protective Style/Low Manipulation Challenge! July 2012

  1. Wow! I will try the twists again just to see. I just don’t feel I look well in them. I’m a girl that likes to where my hair out. However, I understand that low manipulation helps with growth, breakage, and time. Yours look so nice! I will probably join in and try something. Thanks!

  2. I just put in my mini twists on Saturday, so YEAH, I wanna join the challenge too. I got a little lazy in May/June and didn’t retain much length. However throughout my life braids/twists have been proven to help my hair retain the most length. I just have to be patient. My goal was 14 inches by Sept. when the new year started but I’m only at about 11.5 in my longest parts. I guess I have to be patient. Thanks for your inspiration 🙂

  3. I just started a protective style challenge so this is very encouraging! Im trying to reach bra strap length this time next year. I have been wearing my hair up for about 3 wks. now. I take it down to shampoo, detangle, and deep conditon weekly. I wear my ends completely tucked away but sometimes I have trouble determing the best proctive styles. Can you suggest some protective styles that I can try? =)

  4. I’m in! I will do either mini twist or quick weaves as my style of choice. I wear the weave because I model (beginner) from time to time, and I dont trust those stylist on my hair, so they can mess the weave up all day long lol!

    Visit My Blog

  5. I’m already in protective mini’s. Weather is kinda crazy here (The Netherlands). So I guess its protective styling 70% of the time for me. I’m grazing WL, but I’m trying to reach full WL so I guess that will mean grazing T(B)L. I think I will keep the mini’s n retwisting them till maybe sept/oct. From there I’ll see what next. 🙂 enjoy the low protective styles everyone! 🙂

  6. This is great! Thanks for the inspiration. I just started the Curly Girl method and I’m really enjoying my hair, but the winter weather in Melbourne Australia is crazy rain and below 0 cold, so a protective style would be great. I’ll start just before I start uni again in mid July and keep going til I graduate in December. I think I’ll start with cornrows, then twisted up-do’s, then I’ll end off with a weave (bought hair a long time ago that I should use a some point). Thanks again. And congrats on your hair growth!

  7. I would love to try this challenge! My main hair goals for this year are health, frizz control and GROWTH! Can you recommend some types of protective styling for someone who’s hair is much shorter than yours? My hair is extremely thick with small tight curls. When blown out (I wouldn’t blow out for this challenge though), it comes to my collarbone, but when it is wet and shrunken it will go to my chin or maybe the base of my neck in some places. I haven’t been able to successfully bun it because it seems like too much hair (it’s THICK) for a little band to handle and it appears much shorter. Hope you can help! 🙂 Thanks.

  8. Love your hair, skin and overall style Alicia! (love your musical style too.) 🙂 I’m transitioning, 8 months in with just beyond bra-strap length tex-lazed hair. I’d like to try mini-twists on my hair but I can’t seem to find any info on whether that’s ok with the two textures. Are you aware of any potential issues? I love them in my daughter’s hair (not to mention not having to do her hair for a few weeks!!) You look great. Thanks for sharing your experiences.

  9. Yes, twist and braids even when I was relaxed was great for my length retention. Just remember our hair only grows 1/2 an inch a month, so that is about 6 inches a year. Most of us only retain 3-4 inches of that a year. So, hope this helps to keep you encouraged. Everyone says how fast my hair grew, but really it was average. 🙂

  10. The ends may not hold as well. You can use a thick shea butter or gel to get them to hold. Also for the ends you can add some small rollers to give it a nice curl. 🙂

  11. My ends still have good curl but I may break out the Shea just in case. I just love your twists! Thanks 🙂

  12. Alicia I love your hair! I stumbled on to your site while I was looking for tips for naturally coily hair!! I was so excited to find your blog and see your success with 4b/c coily hair. Coily hair can grow lol!!! I’m inspired to continue my joneney I’m one year in!! I often get compliments on my coily hair but it is a “beast” to style!! My go to style is the puff… just because it is so simple. And it allows me to wet,moisturize and seal daily :-). I nerver consider two-strand twist until I saw your hair!! My hair is thick but, it has not yet reached my shoulders. Would adding extensions to the twist be harmful to my hair? My hair goal by December is shoulder length. I plan to wear the twist (redone monthly) until December.
    Thank you again for the videos and blog… I now have a “fresh” outlook on my coily thick hair!

  13. Hi! Adding extensions to your hair would be great! Make sure to take care of your hair as you normally would! Lots of naturals add extensions with their twist and braids. 🙂

  14. Alicia I am newly natural, I did the big chop on July 8th, 2012. I am loving it so far with the exception of it being so dry and not knowing what to do at night. I found you on you tube when i was searching for “conditioning tips for 4 hair”. That’s another thing I am so confused on 😦 I have no idea what type 4 I am. Well anyway I am so glad I stumbled onto your page. I subscribed to your you tube….I am following you on twitter and I am bout to look for you on facebook…LOL I’m no stalker, just inspired :). Oh by the way. I love your Album!! When I finish posting this i will purchase and download it.

  15. I have in the mini twist. Took me 13 HOURS.lol. Gonna have it in for a month. Didn’t want to have it in for the first days of school but I’ve grown to love them more and more as the days go by. 🙂

  16. I already have growth from my mini twist (says the measuring tape!!!) so now I’m super excited. I think I will be putting these back in when i redo them in August. Please keep us updated on your hair too, i love hearing about it!
    -Loving them shrunken verses stretched!

  17. Congrats on your big chop!!! Thank you so much! You will do fine, it’s a lot of information out there about natural hair. My advice would be to grab only what you need, and leave the rest, keep it simple! 🙂

  18. I have unofficially joined this challenge. I put my mini twists in 10 days ago (last monday) I will try to do this till Dec 15 and Im hoping for 3 inches in 5 months. I think thats attainable. I plan on doing mini twists monthly with monthly dc and protein treatments. I plan on keeping twists in for at least 4 weeks at a time. I use EVOO during the month and I will not be washing my hair with the twists in (my hair gets a lot of knots). Oh and Im gonna give myself 3 “passes” for flat ironing in case I cant take it lol. But after I get the 3 inches, Im in serious need of a hair cut so much of the growth will be cut off so I can start doing regular trims. I know this is alot but I figure if I write it out, I will be more accountable. God-willing I live til dec, I hope to accomplish these goals. Hopefully, I will keep yall posted.

  19. I’m going to do these this weekend. We are going on a family vacation next wknd I need something easy so I don’t have to set my hair at night and do it in the morning. Love your blog & youtube videos… How do you keep the ends from unraveling?

  20. Its not true to say that afro textured hair grows 1/2 inch per month as mine grows about 1 and 1/4 inch per month and i reatain most of that…..So inspired by how long your hair has grown i aim to grow to that length in about 2 yrs or so 🙂

  21. Hi! I’m saying according to my personal research hair grows on average 1/2 an inch a month, not just afro textured, all hair. on Average meaning…some are below and some are above. Good luck on your growth journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

