Finger Detangling & Washing Tightly Curly Hair

My normal routine is to wash weekly; unless I’m wearing twist or my hair is blown out. The first step when preparing my hair before a wash is the most important to me, dry finger detangling. Finger detangling the dry hair is very important, especially if you’ve been wearing a wash and go, or your curls are really shrunken. The hair gets really tangled, and when I wet my tangled hair, I end up getting more knots, and lose more hair in the process. I always try to schedule time to detangle and wash my hair.  I do this so that I can have plenty of time, and will not have to rush through my hair. When I have to rush, detangling is a little harder, and I rip through my coils. Detangling takes a lot of patience.  There was a time when detangling took me about 3-4 hours. Now, I can do the whole process within an hour. Some may say that is still a long time, but the patience has allowed me to retain the health that I want for my hair. Detangling time can vary. My daughter has 3b 3c hair. Her texture is really fine. Detangling for her hair is nothing. I can do it in less than 30 minutes.

Now, when I am finger detangling on dry hair, my goal is not to be able to get my fingers all the way through my hair. I’m not a big fan of raking through my dry hair. My goal is to take my fingers and undo some of those hairs that are raveled around each other or themselves. These are the little pieces of hairs that form those knots you have to eventually cut out if you are not careful.  Note: I apply plenty of oil to my hair while I am doing this. The oil adds slippage, and makes it a lot easier for me. I also do the detangling in small sections. Once I’m done with each section, I put it in a two strand twist.

After I’m done dry finger detangling, I put a plastic cap/bag on my hair, and I sit under the dryer for 15-30 minutes for my hot oil treatment. I do my hot oil treatments weekly.

For more info on my hot oil treatment: http://youtu.be/SUICUROI_i8

After I complete my treatment, I co wash thoroughly. I also spend a little more time finger detangling/combing. Now, I want to make sure I can get my fingers through the hair, like a comb. It is a lot easier with lots of conditioner and water running down your hair. I always have fewer tangles when I wash in the shower.  Once I am done washing my hair, I add my shea butter, and style as usual.

I have been natural for nearly 4 years.  It will be 4 years September 2012. If you would like to know more about my hair growth journey, please click link here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF4F1811AC5410508

2 thoughts on “Finger Detangling & Washing Tightly Curly Hair

  1. Thanks for sharing your routine. I can never find time to squeeze hot oil treaments into my regimens. That’s a good idea. I typically just add a ton of EVOO to my conditioners when I do deep treamtents hoping it will sort of count. : )

Leave a Reply

