Achieving The Perfect Wash and Go – Tight Coily Hair

My wash and Go Today !!! Day 3 Hair

How I achieved the perfect wash and go for 4a/4b tight coily hair!

  • I co washed my hair using Herbal Essence Hello Hydration conditioner.
  • I finger detangled my hair. It’s been over a month since I’ve used a comb.
  • Now here is where you have 2 options.. I prefer option 2, because I feel the results were better! You decide
  1. I left the Herbal Essence Conditioner in, and let my hair air dry (don’t forget to add the product in small sections – Shingle)
  2. I rinsed the conditioner out, and then applied my Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioning Repair CreamΒ  (don’t forget to add the product in small sections – Shingle)
  • The trick is not touching your hair afterwards (it’s so tempting) You don’t want your hair to become frizzy. Let the curls set
  • It takes my hair almost half of a day to dry. (I start washing that morning, because you don’t want to have to sleep on your wet hair, the curls will not set properly)
  • At night, I pull the dry hair up in a pineapple. I tie my hair down with a satin scarf, leaving the curls sitting outΒ  on the top of my head
  • In the morning,Β  I take the hair down, and apply a little extra virgin olive oil for shine.
  • I shake the hair out, and pull some of the curls apart lightly. (The more you pull the frizzier it will get)

VOILAAAAA!!!! A successful wash and go!

Letting the hair dry completely decreases the amount of frizz! The pineapple helps stretch the hair out, so that you can get a little length and movement! πŸ™‚ I hope this works for you! πŸ™‚

 

 

41 thoughts on “Achieving The Perfect Wash and Go – Tight Coily Hair

  1. Wow, I Love it. I’ve never tried an overnight wash n go. Well other than day two wash n go hair. I’m also amazed that you are able to get these results with just conditioner and oil!

  2. Love, love, love,…..LOVE your hair. I never do wash n go’s because I thought my hair was too coily to do so but seeing this gives me hope and courage to try it…thank you

  3. looooooove this i follow the curly girl routine and i wash n go as well!…i thought i had 4a/b hair but after seeing your hair i really dont know my texture lol…help!

  4. do you stretch your hair at all while your waiting for it to dry during the day so it doesn’t shrink too much?

  5. Well, I’ll be trying this tomorrow just with garnier’s sleek and shine conditioner as a co wash. wish me luck

  6. No, I don’t touch it again until it’s dry. The stretching happens at night once it has had time to dry throughout the day. I take my dry hair and pull it up in the pineapple at night. (The hair is already dry) The pineapple gives the hair a nice stretch, and your curls stay in shape. πŸ™‚

  7. I showed all the ladies at work on Friday your beautiful wash-n-go. You are my hair inspiration. Love the look. Thank you for explaining.

  8. Great tutorial and want to try it. My question is: how and when do you moisturise your hair for the week in this style? Thanks in advance if you answer this question,

  9. I don’t wet my hair again, until about day 5 when I’m preparing to wash. I apply a little extra virgin olive oil in the morning, and that’s about it. πŸ™‚

  10. Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this! I have the same really small coils all over my head and I have not been able to figure out a wash and go method that works. My shrinkage is just sooooooo aggressive! lol I’m definitely trying it this week!

  11. Will if I try a wash and go on shorter hair (4in) will it come out similar or will I get tons of tangles? I remember one of your videos you twisted to keep your hair from tangling. I’m also still trying to find a good wash method… =/ help please.

  12. Honestly, I’m not sure how it will come out. I had to test my hair several times to find what worked. This has been years of trying to figure out the wash and go. Dealing with the tangles was more about patience for me. I am so used to that stretched hair and the minimized tangles. So, when it’s time to deal with my natural curl pattern, and it;s curl craziness, I freak out sometimes. I’ve learned how to manage it. The first key is patience. Making sure to dry finger detangle first always. Then wet the hair and smother it with conditioner so that you can finish detangling. I always do this in the shower now. This tight coily hair always has a challenge for me though. πŸ™‚

  13. I really love your hair. I’ve had my locks for 5 years now. Love natural hair. I wondered if you would share recommendations on growing natural hair starting age one. Your daughters hair is gorgeous! What brand of shampoo and conditioner did you use on Kellis hair at this age? And, how often are you washing her hair? I made note of the Cantu and EVVO. Thank you for your help!

  14. During that age I was still using Johnson’s baby products. I didn’t do a lot of things to her hair. My suggestion is doing as little as possible, because during that age, their hair sheds more. πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Last Thoughts On My Wash and Go | Alicia James

  16. Omg! I finally found my hair twin!!! My hair looks exactly like this….tight coils. How long have you been natural? I’ve had so many fails in the wash n go department that I have given up! You give me motivation to keep at it!! Btw you are absolutely stunning!

  17. Do you have a tutorial on how you detangle your hair after this wash & go? I was considering the curly girl/tightly coily methods after I read the book, but my hair has such tiny coils! It works for now, since my hair is short, but I remember just a few months ago before my hair cut, and I could not finger detangle for my life!!!

  18. I have struggled so much with wash and gos throughout my journey! I have done several videos where I say I hate them and would never do them again, but I ALWAYS go back! I am starting to get the hang of them. My hair is really tightly coiled, and it shrinks up a lot. This can also cause those tangles and single strand knots we hate, but I am learning how to handle that over time. It really is one of those things that if you stick to it, it will become easier.
    Here is a video of me detangling after a wash and go — http://youtu.be/399z-3zXwVY

  19. I just found your site today! I posted one of your WNG styles as my hair inspiration on Facebook. I have been hiding my natural hair in braids under wigs for the past 18 + months because I workout in the mornings before work and I don’t know how to handle my very shrinkage prone natural hair. I sweat a lot in my hair especially when I run (which I love to do) so I end up with wet hair nearly every morning. I workout in the mornings because I’m am a single mom with a very active 15 year old son who has activities after school nearly everyday. My hair is collar bone length now and I am able to achieve nice braid-outs and twist-outs on my non-workout days by sleeping in braids and twists.
    I know this will be much easier when my hair is longer because I will be able to do top knots and buns. I can pull my hair into a high bun when its stretched, however my hair doesn’t stay nicely stretched after a strenuous workout. I have been secretly thinking about getting a texturized relaxer or some chemical process because if I have to choose between fitness and hair, fitness will win. I’m also getting tired of wearing the wigs. I’m at a crossroad.

    I haven’t had an opportunity to go through all of your videos and blog posts yet, but if you can provide a link related to exercise and natural hair, it would be greatly appreciated. – TIA

  20. I don’t have a video on exercise and hair yet, but I think that will definitely be something I work on.
    It definitely gets easier when you can pull it up in a bun. I workout 5-6 days a week. I am a runner also, so I like to pull my hair up in a really high bun. It keeps the hair nice and stretched out. I usually have to do a braid our or twist out on day 4 or 5 to make it through the rest of the week. I will be working on a video soon! )

  21. LOVEEE your hair! Doesn’t the cantu have silicones in it? I was trying to do the curly girl method and realized that the cantu has silicone in it so I am going to have to shampoo my hair to wash it out…(Don’t you have to use shampoo to wash out the silicone) Also, my hair takes forever to dry (like more than a day) any suggestions? Aside from using heat to make sure my hair is dry before I go to bed.

  22. Yes, Cantu shea butter has silicone. You do have to use shampoo to wash it out, because it is not water soluble.
    I use Cantu but I am not on the curly girl method.
    I have low porosity hair, so my hair also takes more than 24 hours to dry. I prefer to blow dry or diffuse for my wash and gos, because it is the only way I can wear a wash and go for a week. If I go to bed on wet hair it just tangles and knots up, I end up wetting my hair everyday to have a half decent hairstyle.

    You can also try drying your hair with a t shirt. It helps to dry the hair faster and also keep the hair from getting too frizzy. It may not be completely dry, but you will not have to leave with soaking wet hair. πŸ™‚

    I hope this helps! πŸ™‚

  23. I cut my hair off a month ago and I have multiple hair types. My hair coils at the roots than puffs out at the ends. How do I keep the coils throughout the hair shaft and moisturize during the short and growing out stage?

Leave a Reply

